Affiche 500 Nations
  • 2 saisons
  • 8 épisodes
  • Début :
  • Statut :
  • Hashtag :

500 Nations is an eight part documentary which explores the history of the indigenous peoples of North and Central America, from pre-Colombian times, through the period of European contact and colonization, to the end of the 19th century and the subjugation of the Plains Indians of North America. 500 Nations relies on historical texts, eyewitnesses accounts, pictorial sources and computer graphic reconstructions to explore the magnificent civilizations which flourished prior to contact with Western civilization, and to tell the dramatic and tragic story of the Native American nations' desperate attempts to retain their way of life against overwhelming odds.


Saisons & épisodes Les résumés de tous les épisodes de 500 Nations

S01E01 The Ancestors: Early Cultures Of North America 20/04/1995 This volume takes a look at the massacre of the Sioux at Wounded Knee then flashes back to examine societies of Native Americans prior to the arrival of European settlers.
S01E02 Mexico: The Rise and Fall of the Aztecs 20/04/1995 The rise and fall of the Aztec Empire is examined from their defeat of the Toltec regime to Cortez' ultimate conquest of the Aztecs and all of Mexico.
S01E03 Clash of Cultures: The People Who Met Columbus 21/04/1995 Columbus' arrival and the subsequent defeat of the Caribbean tribes are chronicled, along with De Soto's destruction of the Southeast tribes such as the Coosa and the Mobile nation.
S01E04 Invasion of the Coast: The First English Settlements 21/04/1995 An examination of the Native Americans of New England and their experiences with the British who settled at Jamestown and Plymouth. Includes background to the first Thanksgiving.
S01E05 Cauldron of War: Iroquois Democracy and the American Revolution 27/04/1995 Hostilities between Native Americans and European settlers erupt across the eastern part of the continent as the colonists prepare for revolution. Pontiac's siege of Detroit and the splintering of the Iroqois Confederacy are examined.
S01E06 Removal: War and Exile in the East 27/04/1995 After Tecumseh's Shawnee people side with the British in the War of 1812, President Andrew Jackson signs the Indian Removal Act, forcing all tribes to move into "Indian Territory," along the famed trail of tears.
S01E07 Roads Across the Plains: Struggle for the West 28/04/1995 The twin gold rushes in California and Colorado bring hordes of settlers into the Western Territories where such Native American leaders as Crazy Horse, Sitting Bull and the Kiowa chief Satanta organize futile resistance.
S01E08 Attack on Culture: 'I Will Fight No More Forever' 28/04/1995 The Indian resistance of the late 19th-century is examined, including Chief Joseph of the Nez Perce, the Apache leader Cochise and Geronimo, who surrenders and is imprisoned into the 20th-century. The government-mandated suppression of Native American culture culminates in the massacre at Wounded Knee, bringing the series full circle.
S00E01 Prologue: Wounded Knee Legacy 00/00/0000 A short introduction to the series.
S00E02 Extra: Closing Remarks By Kevin Costner 00/00/0000 A summary of the series.
S00E03 Extra: CGI Insight With Director Jack Leustig 00/00/0000 An interview with the director of the series.

Les critiques & échangesDiscussions et débats sur la série